Glutenista's Gluten-Free Liquor List
There are many debates about distilled alcohol being gluten-free or not. Take it from this Glutenista, each person is different when it comes to gluten-free alcohol. An accidental mix-up by a bartender can put me down for the count the next few days (& no, not because I had too much to drink!) so I never, ever drink gluteny grain based spirits. Learn what works best for you, play it safe and when in doubt, leave it out! Happy imbibing Glutenistas! Here's a toast to you!
Gluten-Free Vodka Brands
Other Gluten-Free Liquors:
Gluten-Free Tequila Brands
Jose CuervoFrom Jose: "Being straight distilled spirits, all Jose Cuervo Tequilas are gluten free. In addition, Jose Cuervo Authentic Cuervo Margaritas, Margarita Minis, and Golden Margaritas are also gluten-free."
Many, many tequilas are gluten-free, as they are not made from grains, but stay away from the cheap stuff that may not follow traditional production methods
Craving a low-calorie, gluten-free Margarita? Here's the official word from SkinnyGirl Margaritas:
"The ingredients in Skinnygirl Margarita are not produced from cereals containing gluten and do not contain gluten."
Most Rum is naturally gluten-free, including Bacardi & Cruzan. Beware Rums with fancy "natural flavors" that could be hiding wheat, barley or malt.
NOT GLUTEN FREE
Bottled Malt Beverages such as Smirnoff Ice and Mike's Hard Lemonade. There is one Mike's labeled GF, but be warned, we know a number of people who felt sick or had the "fog" after drinking it. You may want to stick with gluten-free beer or cider.
Have a question or suggestion to add to the list? Leave your Gluten-Free Liquor thoughts below!